
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 
 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

 
Healthcare Services Provider Fees 
Nursing Facility Services Providers 

(LAC 48:I.4001) 

 The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing amends LAC 48:I.4001 in the Medical Assistance Program 

as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 46:2625.  This Emergency 

Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 

shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act 

or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

 The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, amended the provisions governing provider 

fees in order to place provider fees for pharmacy services in 

the appropriate section in the Louisiana Administrative Code 

(Louisiana Register, Volume 33, Number 1). 

 Act 675 of the 2016 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature directed the Department of Health to increase 

provider fees for nursing facilities.  In compliance with Act 

675, the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing amends the provisions governing provider fees in order 

to increase the limit of the provider fee for nursing 

facilities.  
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 This action is being taken to avoid a budget deficit by 

securing new funding through increased revenue collections.  It 

is estimated that implementation of this Emergency Rule will 

increase revenue collections in the Medicaid Program by 

approximately $9,856,892 for state fiscal year 2016-2017. 

 Effective September 1, 2016, the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the provisions 

governing provider fees to increase the limit of the provider 

fee for nursing facilities. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL 

Part I.  General Administration 
Subpart 1.  General 

Chapter 40. Provider Fees 

§4001. Specific Fees 

 A. – B.1. ... 

  2. The provider fee imposed for nursing facility 

services shall not exceed 6 percent of the average revenues 

received by providers of that class of services and shall not 

exceed $12.08 per occupied bed per day.  The fee amount shall be 

calculated annually in conjunction with updating provider 

reimbursement rates under the Medical Assistance Program.  

Notice to providers subject to fees shall be given in 

conjunction with the annual rate setting notification by the 

Bureau of Health Services Financing. 
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 C. – D. ... 

 E. – F. Reserved. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Chapter 

45 of Title 46 as enacted in 1992, 46:2601-2605, redesignated as 

Chapter 47 of Title 46, containing R.S. 46:2621 to 46:2625 and 

P.L. 102-234. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health 

and Hospitals, Office of Management and Finance, LR 19:347 

(March 1993), amended LR 20:51 (January 1994), LR 26:1478 (July 

2000), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office 

of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 33:100 

(January 2007), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of 

Health Services Financing, LR 42: 

 Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 91030, 

Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to MedicaidPolicy@la.gov.  

Ms. Steele is responsible for responding to inquiries regarding 

this Emergency Rule.  A copy of this Emergency Rule is available 

for review by interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 

Secretary 
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