DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Health
Bureau of Health Services Financing

Healthcare Services Provider Fees
Nursing Facility Services Providers
(LAC 48:1.4001)

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services
Financing amends LAC 48:1.4001 in the Medical Assistance Program
as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 46:2625. This Emergency
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and
shall be i1n effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act
or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first.

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health
Services Financing, amended the provisions governing provider
fees i1n order to place provider fees for pharmacy services iIn
the appropriate section in the Louisiana Administrative Code
(Louisiana Register, Volume 33, Number 1).

Act 675 of the 2016 Regular Session of the Louisiana
Legislature directed the Department of Health to increase
provider fees for nursing facilities. In compliance with Act
675, the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services
Financing amends the provisions governing provider fees in order
to increase the limit of the provider fee for nursing

facilities.



This action i1s being taken to avoid a budget deficit by
securing new funding through increased revenue collections. It
is estimated that implementation of this Emergency Rule will
increase revenue collections in the Medicaid Program by
approximately $9,856,892 for state fiscal year 2016-2017.

Effective September 1, 2016, the Department of Health,
Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the provisions
governing provider fees to increase the limit of the provider

fee for nursing facilities.

Title 48
PUBLIC HEALTH—-GENERAL
Part 1. General Administration
Subpart 1. General

Chapter 40. Provider Fees
84001. Specific Fees
A. — B.1.
2. The provider fee imposed for nursing facility

services shall not exceed 6 percent of the average revenues
received by providers of that class of services and shall not
exceed ten—doHars$12.08 per occupied bed per day. The fee
amount shall be calculated annually in conjunction with updating
provider reimbursement rates under the Medical Assistance
Program. Notice to providers subject to fees shall be given in
conjunction with the annual rate setting notification by the

Bureau of Health Services Financing.
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C. — D.

E. — F. Reserved.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Chapter
45 of Title 46 as enacted in 1992, 46:2601-2605, redesignhated as
Chapter 47 of Title 46, containing R.S. 46:2621 to 46:2625 and
P.L. 102-234.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Office of Management and Finance, LR 19:347
(March 1993), amended LR 20:51 (January 1994), LR 26:1478 (July
2000), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office
of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 33:100
(January 2007), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of
Health Services Financing, LR 42:

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.0O. Box 91030,
Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030or by email to MedicaidPolicy@la.gov.
Ms. Steele is responsible for responding to inquiries regarding
this Emergency Rule. A copy of this Emergency Rule i1s available
for review by interested parties at parish Medicaid offices.

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH

Secretary



