
NOTICE OF INTENT 
 

Department of Health  
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

 
Healthcare Services Provider Fees 

Emergency Ambulance Service Providers 
 (LAC 48:I.4001,4003 and 4007) 

 The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing proposes to adopt LAC 50: I.4001, 4003 and 4007 in the 

Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 

46:2625.  This proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with 

the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

 The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of 

Management and Finance, amended and repromulgated the 

regulations governing provider fees for certain health care 

services pertaining to the administration of fees and the rights 

and obligations of service providers on whom such fees are 

imposed (Louisiana Register, Volume 26, Number 7). 

 Act 305 of the 2016 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature directed the Department of Health to establish 

qualifying criteria and implement a provider fee for qualified 

providers of emergency ground ambulance services.  

 In compliance with Act 305, the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgated an Emergency 

Rule which amended the provisions governing provider fees for 

certain health care services in order to implement a provider 
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fee assessment for qualifying emergency ground ambulance service 

providers (Louisiana Register, Volume 42, Number 8). This 

proposed Rule is being promulgated to continue the provisions of 

the August 1, 2016 Emergency Rule.  

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 1. General 

Chapter 40. Provider Fees 

§4001. Specific Fees 

 A. Definition 

  Net Operating Revenue-the gross revenues of an 

emergency ground ambulance service provider for the provision of 

emergency ground ambulance transportation services, excluding 

any Medicaid reimbursement, less any deducted amounts for bad 

debts, charity care and payer discounts. 

*** 

 B. – D. ... 

 E. Medical Transportation Services. The fee for 

transportation services shall be set at $0.00 pending federal 

designation of transportation services as a medical provider 

shall not be required to provide utilization data under this 

ruleEffective for dates of service on or after August 1, 2016, 

qualifying emergency ground ambulance service providers shall be 

assessed a fee of one and one–half percent of the net operation 

revenue.  
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  1. Qualifying Criteria. Ambulance service providers 

must meet the following requirements in order to be assessed a 

fee of one and one-half percent of the net operating revenue. 

The ambulance service provider must be: 

   a. licensed by the State of Louisiana; 

   b. enrolled as a Louisiana Medicaid provider; 

   c. a provider of emergency ground ambulance 

transportation services as defined in 42 CFR 440.170 and Medical 

and Remedial Care and Services Item 24.a; and 

   d. a non-federal, non-public provider in the 

State of Louisiana, as defined in 42 CFR 433.68(c)(1), of 

emergency ground ambulance services that is contracted with a 

unit of local or parish government in the state of Louisiana for 

the provision of emergency ground ambulance transportation on a 

regular 24 hours per day and 7 days per week basis. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Chapter 

45 of Title 46 as enacted in 1992, 46:2601-2605, redesignated as 

Chapter 47 of Title 46, containing R.S. 46:2621 to 46:2625 and 

PL 102-234. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health 

and Hospitals, Office of Management and Finance, LR 19:347 

(March 1993), amended LR 20:51 (January 1994), LR 26:1478 (July 

2000), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office 

of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 33:100 
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(January 2007), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of 

Health Services Financing, LR 42: 

§4003. Due Date for Submission of Reports and Payment of Fees 

 A. ... 

 B. Medical Transportation Services.  Effective August 1, 

2016, qualified ambulance service providers will be assessed a 

fee at the end of each quarter not to exceed one and one-half 

percent of the net operating revenue of emergency ground 

ambulance service providers.  

  1. Qualified ambulance service providers will 

provide the Department of Health (Department) a monthly net 

operating revenue report for emergency ground ambulance 

transportation services by the fifteenth business day of the 

following month. 

  2. Qualified ambulance service providers will be 

issued a quarterly notice within 30 days from the end of the 

quarter. Payment will be due to the Department by qualified 

ambulance service provider within 30 days from date of notice. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Chapter 

45 of Title 46 as enacted in 1992, 46:2601-2605, redesignated as 

Chapter 47 of Title 46, containing R.S. 46:2621 to 46:2625 and 

PL 102-234. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health 

and Hospitals, Office of Management and Finance, LR 19:347 

(March 1993), amended LR 26:1479 (July 2000), amended by the 
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Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 

42: 

§4007. Delinquent and/or Unpaid Fees 

 A. Interest on Unpaid Provider Fees Other Than Medical 

Transportation Provider Fees. When the provider fails to pay the 

fee due, or any portion thereof, on or before the date it 

becomes delinquent, interest at the rate of 1 1/2 one and one-

half percent per month compounded daily shall be assessed on the 

unpaid balance until paid. In the case of interest on a penalty 

assessed, such interest shall be computed beginning 15 days from 

the date of notification of assessment until paid. 

 B. Collection of Delinquent Provider Fee Other Than 

Medical Transportation Provider Fees 

  1. – D. ... 

  E. Emergency Ground Ambulance Service Provider Fees 

  1. Penalties and Interest for Non-Payment of 

Assessment 

   a. If the Department audits a qualifying 

ambulance service provider’s records and determines the net 

operating revenue reported is incorrect for the assessment 

collected, the Department shall fine the qualifying ambulance 

service provider .15 percent of the corrected assessment. The 

fine is payable within 30 days of the invoice. 

   b. If a qualifying ambulance service provider 

fails to fully pay its assessment on or before the due date, the 
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Department shall assess a late penalty of .15 percent of the 

quarterly calculated assessment. The Department shall reserve 

the right to suspend all Medicaid payments to a qualifying 

ground ambulance service provider until the provider pays the 

assessment and penalty due in full or until the provider and the 

Department reach a negotiated settlement. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Chapter 

45 of Title 46 as enacted in 1992, 46:2601-2605, redesignated as 

Chapter 47 of Title 46, containing R.S. 46:2621 to 46:2625 and 

PL 102-234. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health 

and Hospitals, Office of Management and Finance, LR 19:347 

(March 1993), amended LR 20:1114 (October 1994), LR 26:1479 

(July 2000), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of 

Health Services Financing, LR 42: 

 Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 

(CMS), if it is determined that submission to CMS for review and 

approval is required. 

 In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session of 

the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed Rule on 

the family has been considered.  It is anticipated that this 

proposed Rule will have no impact on family functioning, 

stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972. 
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 In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session of 

the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this proposed 

Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed 

Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or family poverty 

in relation to individual or community asset development as 

described in R.S. 49:973. 

 In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 170 of 

the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, the 

provider impact of this proposed Rule has been considered. It is 

anticipated that this proposed Rule will have no impact on the 

staffing level requirements or qualifications required to 

provide the same level of service, but may increase direct or 

indirect cost to the provider to provide the same level of 

service due to provider fees imposed on qualifying ground 

ambulance service providers. This proposed Rule may also have a 

negative impact on the provider’s ability to provide the same 

level of service as described in HCR 170 if the payment of fees 

adversely impacts the provider’s financial standing. 

 Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 91030, 

Baton Rouge, LA 70821—9030 or by email to MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. 

Ms. Steele is responsible for responding to inquiries regarding 

this proposed Rule.  A public hearing on this proposed Rule is 

scheduled for Thursday, September 29, 2016 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 

118, Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
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LA.  At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 

opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally or 

in writing.  The deadline for receipt of all written comments is 

4:30 p.m. on the next business day following the public hearing. 

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 

Secretary 
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