RULEMAKING: Public Health - Notice of Intent

October 07, 2016
In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, (R.S. 49:950, et seq.), the state health officer acting through the Department of Health, Office of Public Health (LDH-OPH), proposes to promulgate a rule to amend Part XII (Water Supplies) of Title 51 (Public Health?Sanitary Code) of the Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC). This action is being taken pursuant to the rulemaking authority granted by R.S. 40:4 and 40:5. The proposed rule is required by the United States Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) in order that the Louisiana Department of Health, Office of Public Health (LDH-OPH) can maintain primacy (primary enforcement authority) over the regulation of public water systems in Louisiana. Particularly, this action is required under 40 CFR Part 142 (National Primary Drinking Water Regulations - Implementation) which was promulgated by the USEPA under the authority of the federal Safe Drinking Water Act (42 USC 300f, et seq.). Failure to adopt this proposed rule may cause the USEPA to withdraw its primacy delegation to LDH-OPH (with loss of federal grant funds) and/or may authorize USEPA to more easily take direct enforcement actions against non-complying public water systems located in Louisiana.
September 10, 2015
The proposed rule recodifies and amends Louisiana Administrative Code Title 49, Part I, Chapter 12 – Tanning Facility Regulations, which was originally promulgated in the March 20, 1992 edition of the Louisiana Register in accordance with Act 587 of 1990. Amendments to the newly recodified Sections 1201-1247 of Chapter 12 reflect administrative changes as well as requirements of Act 193 of 2014 that enforced a new ban on minors’ use of tanning equipment.
September 10, 2015
The propose rule amends Louisiana Sanitary Code (LAC Title 51) Part II – The Control of Diseases, Sections 105-113, Part III – The Control of Rabies and Other Zoonotic Diseases, Section 103, Part XVII – Public Buildings, Schools, and Other Institutions, Section 501, and Part XXI – Day Care Centers and Residential Facilities, Section 105. Amendments update current disease reporting requirements of the Department of Health and Hospitals (DHH), Office of Public Health (OPH) based on recommendations of the Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists (CSTE) and the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
September 05, 2014
The proposed rule codifies the product registration fee schedule within section 105 of Part VI of Title 51 of the Louisiana Administrative Code raises the per-product fee from $20 to $27, as provided for by Act 125 of the 1st Extraordinary Session of the 2000 Louisiana Legislature.