Feedback

Louisiana Department of Health & Hospitals | Kathy Kliebert, Secretary

PrintRSSShareTwitterFacebookWordPressYouTube
 
Text Size:
Increase Text SizeDecrease Text Size
Statewide Initiatives



211 - Get Connected. Get Answers.

For Minors

To Report Abuse

  • The Department of Children and Family Services has a toll-free hotline, open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, to report abuse. If you or someone you know is the victim of abuse, call 855-4LA-KIDS (855-452-5437).
  • The Louisiana Children's Code states that any of the following acts which seriously endanger the physical, mental or emotional health and safety of the child is considered abuse:
    • Exploitation or overwork of a child by a parent or any other person; or
    • Involvement of the child in any sexual act with a parent or any other; or
    • The aiding or tolerance by the parent or the caretaker of the child's sexual involvement with any other person or the child's involvement in pornographic displays; or
    • Any other involvement of a child in sexual activity constituting a crime under the laws of this state.

Parental Involvement, Consent, and Notification 

  • In cases of abuse or neglect, some states waive the consent or notification altogether. Louisiana law requires at least one parent has to consent to a minor having an abortion. Minors may get judicial bypass from the parental involvement/consent requirement. Another exception to this consent is if there is a medical emergency.
  • Parental involvement/consent is required for minors to choose to place their child for adoption.
  • The Child Custody Protection Act prohibits minors from having an abortion without parental consent in a state that does not require such consent-if the minor resides in a state that has this requirement. It also forbids taking a minor to another state to have an abortion in cases of incest, abuse and rape. An exception is when an abortion may be medically necessary to save the life of the pregnant minor.

Pregnancy Options

  • If you think you may be pregnant; the first step is to take a pregnancy test. If you are pregnant, you have three options to think about - abortion, adoption, and parenting. Reading and learning about each one will help you get the facts and may help you decide. It may also help to weigh the benefits and risks of each one.
  • Think about which benefits and risks are most important to you. Only you can decide which choice is right for you. But most find it helpful to talk it through with someone else. You may choose to talk with your partner or a trusted family member or friend.
  • Choose someone you think will be supportive. It's important to remember that you get to decide who is a part of your decision-making process. Family planning clinics have specially trained staff who can talk with you about all of your options.
  • Absolutely no one should pressure you or trick you into making a decision you're not comfortable with. It may be important to take your time and think carefully about your decision. But you may not want to wait too long.
  • Whether you choose adoption or to become a parent, if you plan to continue your pregnancy, you should begin prenatal care as soon as possible.

Abortion/Pregnancy Discrimination

  • The Civil Rights Act of 1964 prohibits an employer from discriminating against an employee because of or on the basis of pregnancy, childbirth or related medical conditions; and women affected by pregnancy, childbirth or related medical conditions.
  • Employees shall be treated the same for all employment-related purposes, including receipt of benefits under fringe benefits programs.
  • This subsection shall not require an employer to pay for health insurance benefits for abortion, except where the life of the mother would be endangered if the fetus were carried to term, or except where medical conditions have arisen from an abortion.